Amsterdam Centre for the Study of the Golden Age

Networks of the Dutch Republic

One of the reasons behind the immense success of the cultural industry in the Dutch Golden Age was the dense clustering of networks that constituted the Republic. Those networks varied from social, commercial, political, religious and artistic to scientific, and most times they combined several of those features.

The members of this research group explore, in a cross-disciplinary setting, the structures and activities of those networks in the ‘long’ Golden Age (1550-1750), their multiple relations to foreign networks, and the impact of their activities on Dutch society. Research is carried out in close cooperation with cultural heritage institutions (like the Amsterdam Stadsarchief, the Amsterdam Museum, the Rijksmuseum, the Jewish Historical Museum and the Amsterdam University Library’s Special Collections). With respect to methodology, the research group will combine classical scholarship with tools and strategies from the e-humanities. An important tool is the prosopographic information system Ecartico. This open access database on the cultural industry of the Low Countries was developed at the UvA during the last decade. In the next years new tools and resources will be developed and implemented. The second aim of this research group is critical reflection both on the applicability of the Dutch societal model as a generic ‘recipe for success’ and on the fruitfulness of research methods that seek to discover and adequately analyse the activities and impact of networks.

  • prof. dr. E.M.P. (Lia) van Gemert

    prof. dr. Lia van Gemert (coördinator)

    E.M.P.vanGemert@uva.nl | T: 0205254574

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. F.R.E. (Frans) Blom

    dr. Frans Blom

    F.R.E.Blom@uva.nl | T: 0205256180

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. M.J. (Marten Jan) Bok

    dr. Marten Jan Bok

    M.J.Bok@uva.nl | T: 0205253044

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. K.H. (Karina) van Dalen-Oskam

    prof. dr. Karina van Dalen-Oskam

    K.H.vanDalen-Oskam@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. P. (Paul) Dijstelberge

    dr. Paul Dijstelberge

    P.Dijstelberge@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. F. (Frans) Grijzenhout

    prof. dr. Frans Grijzenhout

    F.Grijzenhout@uva.nl | T: 0205252050

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. C.M.J.M. (Charles) van den Heuvel

    prof. dr. Charles van den Heuvel

    C.M.J.M.vandenHeuvel@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. J.P.B. (Joost) Jonker

    prof. dr. Joost Jonker

    J.P.B.Jonker@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. E.E.P. (Elmer) Kolfin

    dr. Elmer Kolfin

    E.E.P.Kolfin@uva.nl | T: 0205253049

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. G.M. (Bert) van de Roemer

    dr. Bert van de Roemer

    G.M.vandeRoemer@uva.nl | T: 0205253106

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. M. (Madelon) Simons

    dr. Madelon Simons

    M.Simons@uva.nl | T: 0205253008

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. C.J. (Kees) Zandvliet

    prof. dr. Kees Zandvliet

    C.J.Zandvliet@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • Mr H.A. (Alberto) Feenstra MA

    Alberto Feenstra MA (PhD)

    H.A.Feenstra@uva.nl | T: 0205258185

    Go to detailpage
  • Mr R. (Rindert) Jagersma MA

    Rindert Jagersma MA (PhD)

    R.Jagersma@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • drs. S.C.I. (Sabine) Muller

    Sabine Muller MA (PhD)

    S.C.I.Muller@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage

Published by  ACSGA

20 April 2016